This article was published in 2009.

Quixotic DIY record label Brainlove Records has announced the release of its 2009 compilation. A characteristically diverse mix, all 27 tracks teem with the kind of positivity, sonic invention and skewed pop sensibility that has seen the label gather fans and supporters far and wide over the last 6 years.

It follows on from the success of the 2008 compilation 'Two Thousand And Ace', which was described as "the best compilation of the year" by The National Student. It picked up radio plays from Huw Stephens on BBC Radio 1 and new music DJs John Kennedy and Jon Hillcock at Xfm, and warm reviews from legions of independent music sites, mags and blogs.

The new compilation, 'Fear Of A Wack Planet', continues this celebration of the spirit and imagination that exists in new music of all genres, whether the bands are in their fifth year or on their first gig. Those appearing on the compilation include local bands Napoleon IIIrd, Penny Broadhurst & The Maffickers and Bear Driver.

The compilation is released on October 18th on limited edition slipcase CD, priced at £5. It is also available through the label’s website with free P&P.