This article was published in 2011.

The Pattern Theory have announced the release of their self-titled debut album on May 13th via Valeot Records.

After forming in Leeds in 2007, The Pattern Theory are now based in Berlin, Germany. This debut album was recorded in a disused office space in East Berlin and took almost two years to create.

The tracklisting for the album is:

01: Pyramid Schemes
02: Ideas Of Fun
03: Coracles
04: Bell Curves
05: Chevrons
06: Framed Fields
07: Names For Places
08: Adaptive Expectation

Alongside the recording of the album, The Pattern Theory have toured extensively throughout Germany, Belgium, Austria, the Netherlands, Czech Republic and the UK, playing with bands as wide ranging as Russian Circles, Plants and Animals, The Drift, Icy Demons, Library Tapes, as well as playing a fully improvised set with ex-Can singer Damo Suzuki.

Outside The Pattern Theory, James plays drums for The Declining Winter (Hood side project) and Epic45, while Carl works with Andrew McInnis (ex-Asva) and performs together with Lukas as Sunken Sails.