This article was published in 2011.

Wakefield 4-piece Tiny Planets have announced the release of their debut EP, 'The Trick Is To Keep Breathing', on Monday 16th January 2012 via the Philophobia Music record label.

To celebrate the release the band will be hosting a launch party at The Red Shed in Wakefield on Friday 13th January.

Formed in the autumn of 2009, the four band members of Tiny Planets share a love of North American indie-rock, as well as modern British indie-pop. Whilst a heavy American alt-rock influence prevails on the record, the band hasn't completely shunned its British-ness. A nod to the intelligent-pop of British Sea Power and Bombay Bicycle Club means the band, and more importantly the EP, never stray too far into the trappings of being American lo-fi copyists.

Recorded live to 2" tape and produced by analogue specialists, Jamie Lockhart and Lee Smith, of Greenmount Studios, the record is made of equal parts natural primitiveness and hi-fidelity.

The tracklisting for the EP is:

1. Jetstreams
2. Hardly At All
3. I Was Born
4. Islands
5. The Trick Is...

Philophobia Music is an independent record label based in Wakefield, founded in 2008. As well as Tiny Planets it is currently the home of Runaround Kids, The Spills, Imp, St Gregory Orange, Protectors, Piskie Sits, Michael Ainsley and One Day, After School.

You can buy 'The Trick Is To Keep Breathing' from the record label's page.