This is an archive of the band profile for The Sunshine Underground.

Craig, Stuart, Daley and Matthew are four likely lads from Shrewsbury who came together, Megazord-like, in Leeds (the Northern city famed for cheeky chappies Peter Sutcliffe and The Kaiser Chiefs). Together, they form the rhythm colossus known as The Sunshine Underground.

Like a fever you actually want to catch, the Sunshines' following has spread as the band have sold out London and Leeds on their first headline tour. This follows successful support slots for LCD Soundsystem and countless sweaty local rave-ups, which earned the group the Live Band of the Year trophy at the Leeds Music Awards.

Their début single, 'Put You In Your Place', was released on City Rockers on July 18th after winning Zane Lowe's Fresh Meat competition and since then the boys have toured up and down, leaving a trail of danced-out fans basking in their anthemic afterglow. Their second release, 'Commercial Breakdown', earned even more kudos from the likes of Lowe and the NME, and the momentum shows no signs of slowing.

The Sunshine Underground released their début album 'Raise The Alarm' in August 2006.

The Sunshine Underground are:

Craig Wellington (vox / guitar)
Stuart Jones (guitar)
Daley Smith (bass)
Matthew Gwilt (drums).