This article was published in 2005.

Futuresound Music have today confirmed which thirty bands have got through to the next round of their annual unsigned competition, Futuresound 2005. With a huge response to the competition and the standard of the acts of the highest quality, selection has once again been very difficult for the organisers.

The thirty chosen bands will play at a series of gigs at the Cockpit over the summer (June and July) where a panel of industry judges and an audience vote will decide upon a top six that will get the opportunity to play at the legendary Leeds Festival, with the overall winner also receiving recording studio sessions and £500 worth of musical equipment.

The full list of dates can be found on The Leeds Gig Guide.

The selected thirty bands are: A Destructive Issue, The Playmates, Pen Knife Love Life, O Fracas, Guns on the Roof, The Hair, The Voltz, Samsa, Immune, The Xenith Sound, Cardboard Cowboy, Jerico*, Voltage Union, Western Suburbs, The Voltaires, iLiKETRAiNS, Juma, Pigzipper, Ali Whitton, Djingo, Benjamin Wetherill, Last Days Of Vengence, The Echo, Session 9, Bam Bam Francs, The Breech, Ruby Tombs, The Fret, The Dirty Robbers and The Pigeon Detectives.

Futuresound wishes the best of luck to all the bands taking part.