This article was published in 2006.

Leeds bands The Sunshine Underground and ¡Forward, Russia! feature this week in the “Best of 2006” compilations put together by the writers and staff at NME.

The Sunshine Underground come in at number 31 in the NME Albums Of 2006 list for their debut album “Raise The Alarm”, with ¡Forward, Russia! coming in at 34 for their debut “Give Me A Wall”.

Both bands performed at the Carling Weekend: Reading and Leeds festivals in August of 2006, and it was shortly after their amazing show on the Carling Stage that The Sunshine Underground released their album and single “Put You In Your Place”. The chart-hitting single has also been recognised in the NME Record Of 2006 compilation, coming in at number 41.

The NME compilation marks a successful year for the Leeds bands, with both selling out tours around the UK. ¡Forward, Russia! also appeared as part of both the NME New Music and MTV2 Brand Spanking New Music tours.

The Sunshine Underground will next appear in Leeds on 7th February as part of the NME Indie Rave Tour alongside Klaxons, CSS and New Young Pony Club. Whereas ¡Forward, Russia!, currently touring the US, return to the UK for a Spring headline tour and will appear at Leeds Metropolitan University on 6th March 2007 - tickets are available online through See Tickets.