This article was published in 2008.

Futuresound 2008 organisers have today revealed the thirty bands that have been selected by the judges to take part in the heat stages of this year’s competition.

With the winning bands set to play on the BBC Introducing Stage at the Leeds Festival 2008, it is little wonder that the annual event has once again been the buzz around town and organisers were again inundated by hundreds of application forms.

The winning bands are: The Lazy Darlings, Jon Jones and the Beatniks Movement, Flowe, Sketches, Killing Fields Of Ontario, The Dead Certs, Jack Afro, The Finnlys, The Bribes, The Voltaires, These Monsters, i concur, Red Cells, Pulled Apart by Horses, The Humour, Solus Locus, The Dead Eyes Of Quint, A Lot Like Eskimos, The Stations, Kram, Dinosaur Pile-up, Red Go Green Stop, Humanfly, And The Return, Fran Rodgers, Fourteen Corners, The Bacchae, The Rosie Taylor Project, Pushbike Army and Mr and Mrs.

The next stage is for the Cockpit in Leeds to host 10 heats – each gig will be watched by music industry judges, who will decide on the winning bands. The first gig takes place on Wednesday 25th June.

If your band wasn’t selected, don’t worry as there are still chances to play at Leeds Festival through Sandman Magazine – check our Sandman news article for more information.